Upgrading a shared model to a new Tekla Structures version


Software version: Not version-specific

Last updated May 12, 2021 by Tekla Global Support tekla.structures.ghd@trimble.com

Environment: 
Not environment-specific

Upgrading a shared model to a new Tekla Structures version

If you need to move a shared model to a new Tekla Structures version in the middle of a project, we recommend that you follow these instructions:

  1. Ensure that all users have written out their changes.
  2. The admin reads in all the changes and saves the local model. At this point, we recommend that you create a backup copy of the model.
  3. The admin locks the model in the Management console so that other users cannot accidentally write out changes to this model anymore.
  4. The admin opens and saves the local model with the new Tekla Structures version with the Save command. 
Note that you should not use the Save as commands.
You will get this message:
"This model was created using a previous release. If you save it now, you will no longer be able to open it in previous releases. 
This model has been shared in a previous version. If you save it now, it will be excluded from sharing. Do you want to continue?" 


  1. To close the message, click Yes.
  2. To investigate that the model is ok, do any of the following:
    • Run repair commands.
    • Check that there are no errors in the log files.
    • Check that the drawings can be opened. When you open a drawing in the new model version, a new *.dg file is created and the database conversion is done.
  3. Admin starts sharing the model with the new Tekla Structures version and invites the users. 
  4. Other users open new Tekla Structures version and join to the new shared model.

Note: At the moment, the model lock created in step 3 will expire in 24 hours. To avoid accidental joining or writeouts to the old version of the model, we recommend excluding the old model from sharing in the Management console.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
Average page rating: 5 (2 votes)
Refresh page after voting to show updated result.