2020 Table of Contents

Tekla Model Sharing improvements

Last updated April 23, 2020 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2020

Tekla Model Sharing improvements

Tekla Model Sharing improvements

Tekla Structures 2020 introduces several improvements to Tekla Model Sharingcloud service for collaboration and for storing and sharing a model

Tekla Model Sharing is one of the Tekla Online services.

. For example, you can now view the local changes that you have made in the model but that you have not yet shared to other users.

 

Use Trimble Connect folders as XS_PROJECT and XS_FIRM folders

You can now use a folder in a Trimble Connect(1) application for information sharing and collaboration for construction projects that is based on the Trimble Connect platform

(1) Reference models are used in Trimble Connect application instead of using import and export.

(1) Trimble Connect application includes web, desktop and mobile clients, and the Sync tool, for example.

(2) Trimble’s platform for microservices in the cloud

(2) Trimble Connect platform’s microservices include services for uploading, storing, processing, and managing or consuming data. These services are meant to provide common solutions required by multiple applications.

project as the project or firm folderfolder that is used for storing Tekla Structures-related files customized for a particular organization

A Tekla Structures user can, for example, customize a company’s cloning templates and save them in a sub-folder located under the firm folder. After this, the customized cloning templates can be used in all projects carried out for the company.

in Tekla Structures. This makes it easier to use the XS_PROJECT and XS_FIRM features when multiple teams on different sites are working on the same model.

Note that the project and firm folder data is only updated from the Trimble Connect project to local versions of the shared models, not vice versa. In practice, this means that Tekla Structures downloads new files from the project or firm folder to the local model and updates any changed files. If a local file is not in the Trimble Connect project sub-folder, it is removed from the local model.

When you open a model, Tekla Structures searches for differences between the local model data and the data in the Trimble Connect project or firm folder. If Tekla Structures detects a change in the project or firm folder data, you get the following notification:

If you click Yes, the model is saved and closed. Then, the local model data is updated. When the data has been updated, the model opens again.

If you click No, the local model data is not updated.

Use a Trimble Connect project sub-folder as the XS_PROJECT folder

To use a Trimble Connect project sub-folder as the project folderfolder that is used for storing Tekla Structures-related files customized for a particular project

:
  1. On the File menu, go to Settings > Advanced options.

  2. In the Advanced Options dialog box, find the XS_PROJECT option.

  3. Set the value of the advanced option to %CONNECT_FOLDER_SYNC%.

    %CONNECT_FOLDER_SYNC% points to :\Users\<user>\AppData\Local\Trimble\Tekla folder sync\<folder>.

Note:

If you use the same Trimble Connect project as the XS_PROJECT folder and for collaboration, you need to use a sub-folder that is separated from the Trimble Connect collaboration information as the XS_PROJECT folder. In this case, the sub-folder is set as %CONNECT_FOLDER_SYNC%\<folder>\<sub-folder of the folder>.

For example, you could save the project folder under the Project settings folder with the name Project. In this case, the value should be set to %CONNECT_FOLDER_SYNC%\Project Settings\Project.

Use a Trimble Connect project sub-folder as the XS_FIRM folder

To use a Trimble Connect project sub-folder as the firm folder:
  1. On the File menu, go to Settings > Advanced options.

  2. In the Advanced Options dialog box, find the XS_FIRM option.

  3. Set the value of the advanced option to %CONNECT_FOLDER_SYNC%\<ProjectID>;<region>.

    You can see the project ID in Trimble Connect for Browser:

    The region is the same as the project server location setting. The options are:
    • asia

    • europe

    • northAmerica

    So, for example, the value could be %CONNECT_FOLDER_SYNC%\m1G-M21Ca_o;northAmerica.

Note:

If you use the same Trimble Connect project as the XS_FIRM folder and for collaboration, you need to use a sub-folder that is separated from the Trimble Connect collaboration information as the XS_FIRM folder. In this case, the sub-folder is set as %CONNECT_FOLDER_SYNC%\<ProjectID>;<region>%<folder>%<sub-folder of the folder>.

For example, you could save the project folder under the Project settings folder with the name Project. In this case, the value should be set to %CONNECT_FOLDER_SYNC%\m1G-M21Ca_o;northAmerica%Project Settings%Project.

Sharing history dialog box: view update codes and comments and local changes

The Sharing history dialog box has two main improvements:
  • The packet information now shows the update code and comment. Note that if the comment is long, it might not be shown entirely.

    For example, a packet with the code 12345 and the comment Column profiles have been edited would show as:

  • You can view the local changes that you have made in the model before sharing them. You can currently view changes made to physical modelstructural model with a direct or indirect counterpart in the structure to be built

    objects, drawings, and files in the model folderfolder that is used for storing files associated with a model

    Tekla Structures stores all files associated with a model in a folder it creates with the same name as the model database (.db1).

    In multi-user mode all users access the same model folder.

    :

    • Select Local non-shared changes and click the Show changes button.

      The local changes are shown in the Changes list at the bottom pane of Tekla Structures.

      You can see different types of changes by clicking the tabs at the top of the Changes list.

Stronger object locks

Object locks have been strengthened in Tekla Model Sharing so that users that do not belong to the right organization can no longer modify the privileges.inp file. This prevents mistakes in shared models, because users in different organizations cannot accidentally unlock and modify each others' objects.

If a user is not allowed to modify the privileges.inp file, the file is either:
  • not included in the packets that the user reads in (the case of regular packets)

  • restored in the next writeout after a user has made changes to it (the case of new baselines)

    Note that even when the privileges.inp file is restored, the file has no comments that show if a user has tried to modify the file.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
No votes yet