Detect sharing changes and view the sharing history in Tekla Model Sharing

Last updated March 10, 2020 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2020

Detect sharing changes and view the sharing history in Tekla Model Sharing

Detect sharing changes and view the sharing history in Tekla Model Sharing

To see how the model has been changing and who has shared their model changes, use the sharing change detection and sharing history to see what kind of changes the model includes.

Detect changes

After you have either read in the model changes from the sharing service or made changes in the local model, you can view the changes that have been made in more detail. A list of changes is shown at the bottom of the screen. The changes are visualized with colors both in the Changes list and in the model.

To Do this

Open the changes list

Do one of the following:
  • On the Quick Access Toolbar, click the Show read in changes icon .
  • Click File > Sharing > Show read in changes.
  • To automatically show the list after each read in, select the Show changes after read in option in File > Sharing > Sharing settings .

View changes in the list

  • Click the separate tabs to see the changes according to how they affect the model.

The changes are divided to the following tabs: Physical objects, Other objects, Drawings, Options, Attribute definitions, Model folder files, and UDA changes.

The changes are visualized with colors in the list.

Deleted objects are listed in the Changes list but they do not have any information available in the Name column.

The UDA changes tab includes user-defined attributes that have a definition included in the environment.db file. Reference objects are detected as changed if there are physical or material changes.

Tabs do not exist if there are no items on the tab. If the tab content becomes empty because of filtering, the tab is no longer shown.

View changes in the model

  • Select the Select objects in the model check box and a row in the list to highlight the changed objects in the model.

The changes are visualized with colors in the model. Deleted objects are not visualized in the model.

  • Added objects = green
  • Modified objects = yellow
  • Conflicting objects = orange
  • Existing objects that have not been modified by another user = gray

View changes in drawings

You can list the different versions of the same drawing in conflict situations, show their snapshots, and change the current drawing version. You can also view a modified drawing and its snapshot, or clone drawings from other models.

When users modify the same drawing in their local version of the model and one user writes out, the Changes list will show a conflict in other users' local version of the model when they read in.

To view the versions of a drawing, do the following:
  1. Select the changed drawing on the Changes list.

  2. Right-click the drawing.

  3. On the context menu, select Open versions.

The Drawing versions dialog box opens.

In the Drawing versions dialog box, you can select a drawing version, right-click and open the selected version. You can save the drawing version and write out to make the selected drawing version the current version for all users.

Filter changes in the list

On each tab, you can filter the changes in every column.
  1. Hover the mouse pointer over the column.

  2. Click the filter icon next to the column name.

  3. Select how you want to filter the changes.

The name of the selected filter is shown at the bottom left corner of the list.

If you right-click the filter icon , you can, for example, sort the columns.

Edit the filter

  1. Right-click the filter icon .

  2. In the context menu, select Filter Editor....

The Filter editor dialog box opens. You can edit the selected filter as needed, or create a new filter.

Zoom to changed objects in the model

  • Select the Zoom to selected check box, and click a row in the list to zoom to the changed object in the model.

Search for specific changes

  • Type a search word to the search box on the bottom right corner of the list.

Move the Changes list somewhere else on the screen

You can:
  • move the list around the screen
  • drag the list to a second screen
  • dock the list to the side pane or to the bottom of the screen

The list has a button, , in the side pane. If you drag the list to a second screen, click the button to return the list to the main screen.

Add new columns to the Changes list or bring back hidden columns

  1. Right-click the column title.

  2. On the context menu, select the column that you want to add to the Changes list.

  3. Hold down the left mouse button and drag the column to the desired location.

  4. Release the left mouse button.

View the sharing history

After you have read in and written out model changes, you can check the sharing history of the model. The Sharing history dialog box shows:

  • All your read in and write out events

  • The packets included in each read-in and write out event

  • The changes that you have made to the model locally and have not yet shared

You can check the sharing history event-by-event, and see how the model has evolved by the changes made by other users.

To Do this

Open the sharing history

  • On the File menu, click Sharing > Sharing history .

Check the read in and write out events

  • To see all your read in or write out events and their date and time, click the Collapse all button.

Check the packet information

  • To see all the packets in each read in or write out event, click the Expand all button.

The packet information shows:
  • The packet number

  • The user who wrote out the packet

  • The packet upload date and time

  • The code and comment of the update that is included in the packet

    If the comment is too long, it is not shown entirely.

View the model changes included in a single event

  • Select the event and click the Show changes button.

A list of model changes is displayed at the bottom pane of Tekla Structures.

View the local model changes

To view the changes that you have made to the model but have not yet written out:

  • Select Local non-shared changes and click the Show changes button.

A list of local model changes is displayed in the bottom pane of Tekla Structures.

The Undo history dialog box lists all the commands that you have run and the modifications that you have done in your local version of the model. The Undo history list is cleared when you read in or write out.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
No votes yet