Collect model history in Tekla Model Sharing

Last updated March 10, 2020 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2020

Collect model history in Tekla Model Sharing

Collect model history in Tekla Model Sharing

In Tekla Model Sharingcloud service for collaboration and for storing and sharing a model

Tekla Model Sharing is one of the Tekla Online services.

, you can collect model history information on the actions made in a model. The model history of a shared modelmodel used for collaboration over the Tekla Model Sharing service

With a shared model, each user works with their own model and the changes are shared through Tekla Model Sharing. A shared model requires the use of a single-user model. The same model cannot be a shared model and a multi-user model.

shows when the model has been changed, how the model has changed, and who has made the changes.

Collect model history in Tekla Model Sharing

To start collecting model history, do the following:

  1. On the File menu, click Settings > Advanced options > Speed and Accuracy .
  2. Ensure that XS_​COLLECT_​MODEL_​HISTORY is set to TRUE.

    Tekla Structures automatically sets XS_​COLLECT_​MODEL_​HISTORY to TRUE when a model is shared.

  3. Set XS_​CLEAR_​MODEL_​HISTORY to FALSE.
  4. Click OK.
  5. To view model history, do one of the following:
    • On the ribbon, click and select an object in the model.

      The model history is shown in the Inquire object dialog box.

      If the Enable write out revision comment option has been selected in the Sharing settings dialog box, the revision comments are displayed as well.

    • Create a model history report.

      1. On the Drawings & reports tab, click Reports.

      2. Select a report templatetemplate that is used for creating a report

        that shows the model history.

        The name of the report template may vary in different environments. In the Default environmentTekla Structures environment that contains basic example settings that are not related to any standards specific to a country or a region

        , the report template is called Q_Model_History_Report.

      3. Click Create from all to create a report on all the objects in the model, or select one or more objects in the model and click Create from selected to create a report from the selected objects.

Offline usage history is stored according to the Windows domain user account. Note that in Tekla Model Sharing models, when you write out your changes to the sharing service, the changes are stored using your Trimble Identityuser account to sign in to both Trimble and Tekla products and online services

For a Tekla Structures user, Trimble Identity is a single sign-on account which enables the user’s online identity management. Trimble Identity is needed, for example, for Tekla Warehouse, Tekla User Assistance, and Tekla Campus.

.

Clear model history in Tekla Model Sharing

Clearing the model history of a shared model can improve the performance of a large shared model in Tekla Model Sharing and save disc space. Note that if you clear the model history, the model history information can no longer be used in the Tekla Structures user interface, reports, or Tekla Open APIapplication programming interface that lets third-party applications integrate to and communicate with Tekla Structures

Tekla Open API enables, for example, customizing Tekla Structures.

.

Before you clear model history, ensure that:
  • The information stored in the model history is no longer needed.

  • All users in the shared model have written out all their changes.

  • You are the only user currently working on the shared model. We recommend that you delete the model history at a quiet time, such as during the weekend.

Note:

Do not delete the history.db file in order to clear the history of a shared model. The history.db file is incrementally shared, and deleting the file can cause errors in the shared model.

  1. Open the shared model whose history you want to delete.
  2. On the File menu, click Sharing > Reserve next write out .
  3. In the Reserve next write out dialog box, write a comment about why you are reserving the next write out.
  4. Click Reserve.
  5. On the File menu, click Settings > Advanced options > Speed and Accuracy .
  6. In the Advanced Options dialog box, set the XS_CLEAR_MODEL_HISTORY option to TRUE.
  7. Click OK.
  8. Save the model.
  9. Restart Tekla Structures.
  10. Open the model folderfolder that is used for storing files associated with a model

    Tekla Structures stores all files associated with a model in a folder it creates with the same name as the model database (.db1).

    In multi-user mode all users access the same model folder.

    and ensure that the size of the history.db file has been reduced.
  11. Write out the baseline.

Other users should now join the new baseline you have written out.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
No votes yet