Save and close drawings

Last updated March 10, 2020 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2020

Save and close drawings

Save and close drawings

Save a drawing

Tekla Structures automatically saves drawings at set intervals. You can also save your drawing when ever you want to.

  • To save a drawing, in the open drawing, go to the File menu and click Save drawing.

    Both the drawing *.dg and the model *.db1 and *.db2 are saved. The drawings are saved in the \drawings folder under the model folderfolder that is used for storing files associated with a model

    Tekla Structures stores all files associated with a model in a folder it creates with the same name as the model database (.db1).

    In multi-user mode all users access the same model folder.

    .

    A snapshot is by default created when you open and save a drawing. The snapshot represents the situation when the drawing was last saved. For more information, see Snapshots in drawings.

For more information about autosave and the autosave interval, see Autosave drawings.

Close drawings

You can only have one drawing open at a time. You always have to close an open drawing before you can open another one.

  1. Do one of the following:
    • Go to the File menu and click Close drawing mode.

    • On the Drawing tab, click Close.

    • Click the Close button X in the upper-right corner of the drawing window.

  2. If you have made changes in the drawing, Tekla Structures asks you to confirm if you want to save your changes.

    You can also select to mark the drawing ready for issuing. For more information, see Mark drawings ready for issuing.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
No votes yet