Delete unnecessary drawing files in multi-user mode

Last updated September 10, 2019 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2019i

Delete unnecessary drawing files in multi-user mode

Delete unnecessary drawing files in multi-user mode

Every time you update a drawing, Tekla Structures creates a new drawing ( .dg ) file in the drawings sub-folder of the model. After that, the previous drawing filefile that contains a drawing

Drawing files have the file name extension .dg.

Drawing files cannot be used without a model.

is not used and might become unnecessary. To delete the unnecessary drawing files in multi-user modemode in which several users can work on the same model using their own working models

, see the following instructions.

Note:

The drawing files that are not used are not always unnecessary. If you close the model without saving, or if Tekla Structures crashes and you cannot save the model, the drawing files that are not used can become necessary again. In these situations, you need the drawing files that were valid when you last saved the model and the drawing files that were valid when the last autosave was performed.

Having different versions of drawings allows you to revert to the previous versions of drawings. This is especially useful if two users have edited the same drawing.

Delete drawing files automatically in a multi-user model

In multi-user models, you can use the XS_DELETE_UNNECESSARY_DG_FILES and XS_DELETE_UNNECESSARY_DG_FILES_SAFETY_PERIOD advanced optionssettings used to customize Tekla Structures for specific companies, standards, users, or user groups

In Tekla Structures, advanced options are settings that are used, for example, in a specific project or geographical area, or by a specific company.

In Tekla Structures, advanced options usually begin with the initials XS and are followed by the name of the function, for example XS_BACKGROUND_COLOR.

to keep the number of drawing files reasonable.

The XS_DELETE_UNNECESSARY_DG_FILES advanced option defines if the drawing files are automatically deleted or not. To automatically delete the drawing files that are no longer used, ensure that XS_DELETE_UNNECESSARY_DG_FILES is set to TRUE. The drawing files are deleted when the last user exits the model and saves the model.

The XS_DELETE_UNNECESSARY_DG_FILES_SAFETY_PERIOD advanced option defines how long the drawing files are kept before they are saved. The default safety period is 7 days. This means that after 7 days, the drawing files that are not used are deleted when the XS_DELETE_UNNECESSARY_DG_FILES_SAFETY_PERIOD advanced option is set to TRUE. You can define a different safety period according to your needs.

Delete unnecessary drawing files manually in a multi-user model

The Remove unnecessary drawing files command deletes all drawing files that do not have a corresponding drawing in the current version of the model, regardless of the safety period. Note that also the drawing files that have a corresponding version in the last saved or autosaved version of the model are deleted, if there is no corresponding drawing in the current version of the model.

We recommend that you use the Remove unnecessary drawing files command when you want to archive the model or give the model to another user.

Note:

To avoid deleting drawing files that are still needed, we recommend that you only use the Remove unnecessary drawing files command if you are an experienced Tekla Structures user.

Before you use the Remove unnecessary drawing files command, ensure that:
  • You are the only user that has the multi-user modelmodel that is used for collaboration and that is opened in multi-user mode

    open.

  • You have full privileges in the multi-user model. If you do not have full privileges in the model, you cannot delete the unnecessary drawing files manually.

To delete the unnecessary drawing files manually:
  1. Save the model.

    Saving the model ensures that any drawings that are still needed are not accidentally deleted.

  2. Convert the model to a single-user model.

  3. Search for the Remove unnecessary drawing files command in Quick Launch.

  4. When Tekla Structures finds the command, select it and press Enter.

    Tekla Structures deletes all drawings that do not have a corresponding drawing in the current version of the model.

  5. Convert the model back to a multi-user model.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
No votes yet