Repair Tekla Model Sharing issues
Restore shared models
If a shared modelmodel used for collaboration over the Tekla Model Sharing service
With a shared model, each user works with their own model and the changes are shared through Tekla Model Sharing. A shared model requires the use of a single-user model. The same model cannot be a shared model and a multi-user model.
has problems that may cause loss of working time, a company administrator can delete the model versions that have problems using Management Console for Tekla Model Sharingweb-based tool for administrators to manage all the organization’s models shared with Tekla Model Sharing
The Management Console for Tekla Model Sharing requires a valid Trimble Identity and administrator rights.
. It is also possible that a user of a shared model restores a previous version of the model in Tekla Structures , and that model is used in Tekla Model Sharingcloud service for collaboration and for storing and sharing a model
Tekla Model Sharing is one of the Tekla Online services.
Management Console for Tekla Model Sharing provides a web-based access for administrators to manage all shared models of an organization. An administrator can lockto prevent unwanted action in a model or a drawing
It is possible to lock model objects, reference models, and drawings, for example.
a model and name one user as the lock owner who can investigate the model in Tekla Structures. Once the lock owner finds the problem, the administrator can delete the model versions that are causing the problem, and then unlock the model so that it can be used normally again.
While the model is locked, the sharing commands in Tekla Structures are available as follows:
- The Read in and Write out icons have yellow arrows. Only the lock owner can use these commands.
- On the File menu, the Read in , Write out , Create baseline and Users commands are available for the lock owner.
- In the Shared models dialog box, the Edit model , Manage users , and Remove model from cloud commands , and joining a particular model are available for the lock owner.
For other users the sharing commands are not available.
If a user of the shared model has already read in or written out any of the model versions that the administrator has deleted, Tekla Structures shows the Write out and Read in icons with red arrows for this user. The sharing commands on the File menu are not available. The user needs to rejoin the model.
If a user is not using any of the deleted versions, the user does not need to rejoin.
Note that it is also possible to revert to an earlier version of the model without further investigating it. The administrator can lock the model in Management Console for Tekla Model Sharing , delete the versions that are not needed or that contain errors, and then unlock the model. After this, the users need to rejoin the valid version of the model.
Note that when model versions are deleted, the changes that have been made in those versions are lost from the model. The changes that should be included in the model need to be made again and read in.
Another option to take a previous version of the model into use is that a user of the shared model performs the following steps:
Rejoin the model if the model is not saved after write out
If there are errors in writing out changes to the sharing service, you may need to rejoin the model. Tekla Structures will show you an error message if the errors in the write out could cause database inconsistencies and corrupt model data.
When you write out, Tekla Model Sharing does the following:
- Saves the model.
- Prepares the incremental packet. The data in the model folderfolder that is used for storing files associated with a model
Tekla Structures stores all files associated with a model in a folder it creates with the same name as the model database (.db1).
In multi-user mode all users access the same model folder.
is not changed yet.
- Uploads the incremental packet to the sharing service.
- Saves the model again if the incremental packet is uploaded successfully. Local model data is updated with the needed information.
Tekla Structures will not show you an error message if there are errors at any step before step 4. The sharing service has not received the model update yet. You can try to write out again as the model folder does not contain any data that would prevent the write out. If there are new updates available for the model, first read in the updates and then try to write out again.
If there are errors at step 4, Tekla Structures shows you an error message advising you to rejoin the model. After joining, you can check from the sharing history that your write out was uploaded to the sharing service.
Errors at step 4 mean that the model may not have been saved correctly, and model data may be corrupted or lost. The model has several different Tekla Structures databases each of them with their own baseline. If there are errors, the Tekla Structures model does not have all the needed information of what has been shared.
Get support for sharing issues
You can contact Tekla Structures support to solve Tekla Model Sharing issues.
When you deliver your model to your local support for investigation, ensure that you include the following:
- The model. Zip the model but do not save it anymore before delivering it.
- Give Viewer permissions to Tekla Structures support by inviting email@example.com to the model.
Remember to remove Tekla Structures support from the users after the model has been investigated.
- Detailed description of the problem.
Include steps to reproduce the problem if possible.
- Images and screenshots.
- Which Tekla Structures version you are using.
- Which environment and role you are using.