Hello!

Did you know that logged in users can see a lot more content?

Autosaving in multi-user mode

Last updated March 12, 2019 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2019

Autosaving in multi-user mode

Autosaving in multi-user mode

Autosave only saves the working modelmulti-user model that an individual user works on in multi-user mode

Working model is a local copy of a master model and the user’s current model.

, not the master modelmulti-user model from and to which information is fetched and saved in multi-user mode, and into which Tekla Structures merges changes that individual users make in the working models

It is not possible to work on the master model.

. Other users do not see the modifications you make after an Autosave. In multi-user modemode in which several users can work on the same model using their own working models

, this makes Autosave much faster than the Save command. Save updates the master model.

By default, Tekla Structures saves the Autosave files in the master model folderfolder that is used for storing files associated with a model

Tekla Structures stores all files associated with a model in a folder it creates with the same name as the model database (.db1).

In multi-user mode all users access the same model folder.

with the filename <model>.db1_<user>. If several people are using the same username, conflicts will occur.

To avoid conflicts and problems caused by the network traffic, store the Autosave files locally, not in the model folder that is located on a network drive. Set the advanced option XS_​AUTOSAVE_​DIRECTORY , for example, to XS_AUTOSAVE_DIRECTORY=C:\TeklaStructuresModels\autosave. By saving autosave files locally you make sure that if there are problems in the network traffic, you are still able to save your own work.

  1. On the File menu, click Settings > Options , and in the General settings define the Autosave intervals for operations performed in the drawing and the model.

  2. Periodically autosave the model manually.

    To do so, create a shortcut for the Autosave command. Click File menu > Settings and in the Customize area select Keyboard shortcuts.

Note:

Remember to save regularly to the master model by clicking Save.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
No votes yet