Hello!

Did you know that logged in users can see a lot more content?

Drawings in multi-user mode

Last updated March 12, 2019 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2019

Drawings in multi-user mode

Drawings in multi-user mode

The multi-user environment is very useful when several users are simultaneously editing drawings.

Tekla Structures saves each drawing in a unique file. These drawing files are located in the drawing folder in the master modelmulti-user model from and to which information is fetched and saved in multi-user mode, and into which Tekla Structures merges changes that individual users make in the working models

It is not possible to work on the master model.

folder.

The file is in the format D0000123456.dg. The dg files are part of the model, so you can only open them using Tekla Structures.

dg files contain the locations of views, details of any editing done to the drawing, and the positions of dimensions, part marks, and text. The dg filename does not contain any reference to assembly, part, or multidrawingdrawing that gathers together several drawings on one sheet

The individual drawings in a multidrawing may be of any drawing type.

numbers.

If two users open and save the same drawing in their working models, then save their changes to the master model, one set of changes will be lost. The master model will only contain the changes of the user who most recently saved their working modelmulti-user model that an individual user works on in multi-user mode

Working model is a local copy of a master model and the user’s current model.

to the master model. See Saving in multi-user mode.

The Tekla Structures multi-user server assigns the general arrangement drawingdrawing that is created from one or more model views and that shows information needed to understand the general arrangement of structural elements on a project

General arrangement drawings show how parts, assemblies, cast units, or pour objects are located in a building.

numbers automatically. This means that each drawing gets the first free number available. If users A and B both create a general arrangement drawing at the same time, they are automatically assigned different numbers. The same applies to multidrawing numbers.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
No votes yet