Hello!

Did you know that logged in users can see a lot more content?

Model history in multi-user mode

Last updated March 12, 2019 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2019

Model history in multi-user mode

Model history in multi-user mode

Tekla Structures collects model history on the actions that have taken place in the multi-user modelmodel that is used for collaboration and that is opened in multi-user mode

by different users.

Model history shows when the model has been changed, how the model has changed, who has made the changes, and the model revision comments.

Collect model history in multi-user mode

  1. On the File menu, click Settings > Advanced options.
  2. Go to the Speed and Accuracy tab.
  3. Set XS_​COLLECT_​MODEL_​HISTORY to TRUE.
  4. Set XS_​CLEAR_​MODEL_​HISTORY to FALSE.
  5. Optional: Go to the Multi-user tab.

    Set XS_​SAVE_​WITH_​COMMENT to TRUE.

    This enables the saving of model revision comments.

View model history in multi-user mode

To view model history, do one of the following:

  • On the ribbon, clickand select an object in the model.

    The model history is shown in the Inquire object dialog box.

  • Create a model history report.

    1. On the Drawings & reports tab, click Reports.

    2. Select a report templatetemplate that is used for creating a report

      that shows model history from the list. The name of the report template may vary in different environments.

      In the Default environmentTekla Structures environment that contains basic example settings that are not related to any standards specific to a country or a region

      , the report template is called Q_Model_History_Report.

    3. Click Create from all to create a report on all the objects in a model, or select one or more objects in the model and click Create from selected to create a report from the selected objects.

Save model revision comments in multi-user mode

You can save model revision comments when working with multi-user models. This means that all objects which have been changed during the last save interval include the revision information in them. You can use this information in filtering and reports. You can also use it to examine which users have modified the objects.

  • The Owner is the user, who has added the object into the model.

  • History shows when the model has been changed, how the model has changed, who has made the changes, and the model revision comments.

Before you can save model revision comments, check the following:

  1. When you have set the advanced optionssettings used to customize Tekla Structures for specific companies, standards, users, or user groups

    In Tekla Structures, advanced options are settings that are used, for example, in a specific project or geographical area, or by a specific company.

    In Tekla Structures, advanced options usually begin with the initials XS and are followed by the name of the function, for example XS_BACKGROUND_COLOR.

    mentioned above to TRUE , Tekla Structures displays the Model revision comments dialog box when you are saving the model. Enter the desired revision comment and code in the Model revision comment and Model revision code boxes.
  2. Click OK.

Tekla Structures applies the values of this dialog box to parts that were changed after the last save. When you inquire objects, you can see the model revision information in the Inquire object dialog box. You can use this information also for selection and view filtering.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
No votes yet