Hello!

Did you know that logged in users can see a lot more content?

Version control for drawings

Last updated March 12, 2019 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2019

Version control for drawings

Version control for drawings

You can now list different versions of the same drawing, show their snapshots, and change the current drawing version.

Listing drawing versions is useful when you want to revert to an older version of the drawing for some reason. You can also list the deleted drawing versions that are no longer available in the Document manager , and for GA drawings, open a deleted GA drawingdrawing that is created from one or more model views and that shows information needed to understand the general arrangement of structural elements on a project

General arrangement drawings show how parts, assemblies, cast units, or pour objects are located in a building.

as a new drawing. In Tekla Model Sharingcloud service for collaboration and for storing and sharing a model

Tekla Model Sharing is one of the Tekla online services.

, you can now better control unintentional changes made to drawings and revert to the version that has the correct content.

  • Every time you save a drawing, a new version of the drawing is saved. To list the different versions of a drawing, open Document manager , select a drawing and click the Drawing versions button at the bottom.

    The current drawing version appears bolded.

  • In Tekla Model Sharing models, you can list the different versions of a drawing in conflict situations. When users modify the same drawing in their local version of the model and one user writes out, the Changes list will show a conflict in other users' local version of the model when they read in.

    You can open the Drawing versions dialog box from the Changes list. Select the changed drawing, right-click and select Open versions to view the drawing versions and the changes made to the drawing.

  • The drawing snapshotimage of a drawing that shows the drawing as it was at a certain point in time

    Drawing snapshots make it possible to have a quick look at any drawing without opening the drawing. Snapshots are used, for example, for finding a certain drawing edition. Snapshots can be viewed in Tekla Structures but they cannot be edited.

    is displayed in a separate window. When you save a drawing, a snapshot is taken by default. The advanced option to control the automatic saving of snapshots is XS_DRAWING_SNAPSHOT_CREATION.

    Snapshots are not created at drawing creation if the advanced option XS_CREATE_SNAPSHOT_ON_DRAWING_CREATION is set to FALSE. If you open a drawing and save it, you get a snapshot if XS_DRAWING_SNAPSHOT_CREATION is set to TRUE. The advanced option XS_DELETE_UNNECESSARY_DG_FILES deletes the dg files older than seven days, which is the default value for the advanced option XS_DELETE_UNNECESSARY_DG_FILES_SAFETY_PERIOD.

  • You can now select an older version of the drawing and show its snapshot or open it.

  • If you want to change the current version of the drawing, open another version, close the drawing, and when you are asked Do you want to keep the changes to the drawing? , answer Yes. This makes the drawing version the current drawing version.

  • To show all drawings and their versions related to the model, even the deleted drawings, go to Document manager , and click Drawing versions without selecting a drawing in the Document manager list. In this dialog box, you can see the drawing versions, open the different versions and show the snapshots.

    You can also compare drawings in two different models: from the current modelmodel that is active in Tekla Structures

    The current model can be a single-user model, a shared model or a working model.

    and from a model that you select at the top left corner of the Drawing versions dialog box.

  • You can open a version of a deleted GA drawing by selecting the drawing from the list in the Drawing versions dialog box, right-clicking and selecting Open as new.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
Average page rating: 5 (2 votes)
Refresh page after voting to show updated result.