Hello!

Did you know that logged in users can see a lot more content?

Object locks, drawing locks, and privileges in Tekla Model Sharing

Last updated March 12, 2019 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2019

Object locks, drawing locks, and privileges in Tekla Model Sharing

Object locks, drawing locks, and privileges in Tekla Model Sharing

You can use object locks, drawing locks, and privileges to control user access and editing rights to the shared modelmodel used for collaboration over the Tekla Model Sharing service

With a shared model, each user works with their own model and the changes are shared through Tekla Model Sharing. A shared model requires the use of a single-user model. The same model cannot be a shared model and a multi-user model.

objects and the shared drawings.

Object locks

You can lockto prevent unwanted action in a model or a drawing

It is possible to lock model objects, reference models, and drawings, for example.

assemblies and cast units, and model objects to prevent accidental modification and numberingprocess of assigning position numbers to parts, cast units, assemblies, or reinforcement

In Tekla Structures, the position numbers assigned in the numbering are shown in marks and templates, for example.

of objects. This is useful when there are multiple organizations working with the same shared model, and the organizations want to prevent changes to the assemblies, cast units, and model objects that they have created.

Organization lock means that assemblies, cast units and model objects are locked so that users who are not employees of a particular organization cannot modify them. The assemblies, cast units and model objects are marked as locked For others in the Object locks dialog box ( Manage > Locks ). We recommend that you use the Assemblies option for locking as this also prevents the editing of objects in the assembly.

Note:

The organization information is based on the Windows user account, not on the Trimble Identityuser account to Tekla online services and other Trimble services

For a Tekla Structures user, Trimble Identity is a single sign-on account which enables the user’s online identity management. The organization that the user’s Trimble Identity belongs to, determines the user’s access rights. Trimble Identity is needed, for example, for Tekla Campus and Tekla Warehouse, and to log in to Tekla User Assistance.

.

We recommend that you use the XS_OBJECTLOCK_DEFAULT advanced option to set the default lock status to ORGANIZATION so that assemblies, cast units and model objects are automatically locked For others when they are created.

Set the default organization lock status

You can automatically set the default lock status for all new assemblies and cast units when they are created. Use the XS_​OBJECTLOCK_​DEFAULT advanced option to set the default lock status. The default lock status can be ORGANIZATION or NO. When you start to share the model, the default lock status is set for all assemblies and cast units that do not have any lock status yet.

To set the default organization lock status:

  1. On the File menu, click Settings > Advanced options > Modeling Properties.

  2. Set the XS_​OBJECTLOCK_​DEFAULT advanced option to ORGANIZATION.

  3. Click OK.

    All new assemblies and cast units are locked for your organization, and their lock status in the Object locks dialog box is For others. The users in your organization can modify the objects in the assemblies and cast units. Note that users who are not in your organization see the locked status as For us.

Change the lock statuses

To change the lock statuses:

  1. On the Manage tab, click Locks.

    The Object locks dialog box opens.

  2. Select the objects in the model.

    You can select the objects on the assembly and cast unit level, or on the model objectobject that is represented in a model

    A model object is either created in a model or imported into it.

    level. Use the Assemblies and All object types options, and the Sub-objects check box to define the level of selection.

  3. Click the Add objects button to add the assemblies, cast units, or the objects to the list.

    Once the objects are on the list, you can check their Object type , Name and Locked status.

  4. To change the status of the locks, select the assemblies or objects in the list or in the model, and a new lock value from the list at the bottom of the dialog box, and click Set.

    The lock status is changed.

    How the object locks are set What is locked

    Assembly is set to Organization (the Locked status is For others ) and the objects in the assembly are set to No.

    Assembly and the objects in the assembly are locked for your organization, and users in your organization can modify the assembly or the objects in the assembly.

    Users in other organizations cannot modify the assembly or the objects in the assembly. Assembly and the objects in the assembly are green in the model.

    Assembly is set to Yes and the objects in the assembly are set to No.

    Assembly and the objects in the assembly are locked for all users, no one can modify the object.

    Assembly and the objects in the assembly are red in the model. It is not possible to delete, modify or number the assembly or the object.

    Assembly is set to No and the objects in the assembly are set to No.

    Assembly or the objects in the assembly do not have any locks, anyone can modify the objects.

    Assembly and the objects in the assembly are green in the model.

If you want to clear the list, click the Reset data button.

You can use the following template fields in report templates to report the lock statuses: ASSEMBLY.OBJECT_​LOCKED , ASSEMBLY.OWNER_​ORGANIZATION and ASSEMBLY.LOCK_​PERMISSION.

In addition, you can use the object representationrepresentation of a model object or an object group in a model view, such a representation being based on the color and transparency settings applied to the model object or the object group

to visualize the locks. When you share the object representations, other members in the project can visually check the lock statuses.

Drawing locks

You can lock drawings to prevent accidental modifications and to reserve drawings for editing. If a drawing is locked and the lock is shared, other users cannot make any changes to the drawing.

  1. Read in all the model changes.

  2. Open Document manager , enable direct editing , and click the Lock column next to the drawing.

    The Locked by column in the Document manager shows the user who has locked the drawing.

  3. Write out to share the drawing lock information.

  4. To edit the drawing, open the drawing locks.

  5. Edit the drawing as needed.

  6. Write out to share the updated drawings.

Privileges

The user who has created the model, or anyone in the same organization, can control certain access rights to the model using privileges. In practice, the privileges of the model are controlled via the privileges.inp file. All users can change the status of locks unless the access rights are limited in the privileges.inp.

By modifying the privileges.inp file you can control the access to

To change the access rights:

  1. Close the model.

  2. Open the privileges.inp file in any text editor.

  3. Change the desired settings and save the privileges.inp file to your model folderfolder that is used for storing files associated with a model

    Tekla Structures stores all files associated with a model in a folder it creates with the same name as the model database (.db1).

    In multi-user mode all users access the same model folder.

    .

  4. Re-open the model.

  5. Write out to share the privileges information.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
No votes yet