Hello!

Did you know that logged in users can see a lot more content?

Tekla Model Sharing settings

Last updated March 12, 2019 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2019

Tekla Model Sharing settings

Tekla Model Sharing settings

To modify the basic Tekla Model Sharingcloud service for collaboration and for storing and sharing a model

Tekla Model Sharing is one of the Tekla online services.

settings, use the options in the Sharing settings dialog box in File > Sharing > Sharing settings.

Option Description
Model folder file sharing

Click the Exclude button to define files or folders in the model folder that you do not want to share.

  • Tekla Model Sharing cache

  • Name and Port

You can set up a separate Tekla Model Sharing Cache service to be used with the Tekla Model Sharing service. With the Tekla Model Sharing Cache service, the model data is stored to the sharing service and then cached inside a LAN. This set-up is useful especially if there are several Tekla Model Sharing users in the same location, or a narrow bandwidth to the Internet. Using a cache reduces the download effort.

The first user who reads in a packet from the sharing service loads it to the cache, and the next user gets the data faster from the cache inside the LAN than from the sharing service through the Internet. The cache is not used for packets that are written out.

  • Name is the name of the computer on which the cache is installed.

    To check the computer name, click Windows Control Panel > System and Security > System .

  • Port is the cache service port number that you have set when you installed the cache service.

    The default value is 9998.

  • Click the Set button to connect to the cache.

  • Alternatively, you can set the advanced option XS_​CLOUD_​SHARING_​PROXY to ”name of the server”;”port” in a .ini file. This advanced option is user-specific.

    To reset the cache settings in the dialog box to the ones defined in the .ini file, click the Reset button. If any .ini file has the advanced option defined, the settings appear in the dialog box.

Show available updates when joining the model

Select the check box to enable a list that shows all the available baselines and updates when you join the model.

The Available updates list shows all the baselines and the updates after the latest baseline. You can select any of the available baselines or updates to join, not only the latest. By joining an earlier baseline or update you can go back in the model history, and, for example, check the model state on a certain date.

Alternatively, you can set the advanced option XS_​SHARING_​JOIN_​SHOW_​AVAILABLE_​UPDATES to TRUE in a .ini file to enable the showing of updates. This advanced option is user-specific.

Show available updates when reading in the changes

Select the check box to enable a list that shows all the available updates when you read in the model changes.

The Available updates list shows all the available updates. You can select any of the available updates to be read in, not only the latest. By reading in an earlier update you can go back in the model history, and, for example, check the model state on a certain date.

Alternatively, you can set the advanced option XS_​SHARING_​READIN_​SHOW_​AVAILABLE_​VERSIONS to TRUE in a .ini file to enable the showing of updates. This advanced option is user-specific.

  • Show changes after read in

  • Only when conflicts exist

Select the check box to enable a list that shows the model changes after you have read in. If you select the Only when conflicts exist option, the list is shown only when there are conflicts in the model after read in.

Alternatively, you can set the advanced options XS_​SHARING_​READIN_​SHOW_​CHANGEMANAGER and XS_​SHARING_​READIN_​SHOW_​CHANGEMANAGER_​CONFLICTSONLY to TRUE in a .ini file to enable the showing of model changes. These advanced options are user-specific.

Enable write out revision comment

Select the check box to enable the entering of revision comments.

When you write out, you can enter a revision comment and code in the comment dialog box. If you enable the revision comments, the comment dialog box is displayed for all the model users.

Alternatively, you can set the advanced option XS_​SAVE_​WITH_​COMMENT to TRUE in .ini files to enable the revision comment. This advanced option is model-specific.

  • Copy project folder files to model folder
  • Copy firm folder files to model folder
  • Overwrite model folder files

Select whether the project or the firm folder files are copied to the model folder that you are going to share. Select the check boxes and click the Copy files button.

We recommend you to copy the project and firm folder files.

You can also select whether the copied project or firm folder files replace the existing files of the same name in the model folder.

Individual files can be copied to a model folder at any time. The next time you write out, they are shared to all model users.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
No votes yet