Hello!

Did you know that logged in users can see a lot more content?

Recreation of drawings

Last updated March 12, 2019 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2019

Recreation of drawings

Recreation of drawings

Changing some of the drawing settingssettings that control what the drawing looks like and what it includes

Drawing settings can be defined in the modeling mode when creating a drawing, and they can be modified in the drawing mode.

The range of the objects and elements that drawing settings affect may vary.

requires the drawing to be recreated. The changes will be applied, and the drawing will be recreated only if and when you click Modify.

Settings affecting the recreation of drawings

In the View creation panel:

  • Coordinate System

  • Around X

  • Around Y

  • Around Z

  • Undeformed

  • Unfolded

  • New views added into the Views list.

If at least one of the above mentioned settings is changed, the Recreate the drawing option is automatically set to Yes and the drawing will be recreated when you click Modify. If you manually set Recreate the drawing to Yes , the drawing will also be recreated. When View creation settings have changed and drawings will be recreated, you will get a warning message.

In the Section view panel:

  • Section depth

  • Distance for combining cuts

  • Left section

  • Middle section

  • Right section

If at least one of the above mentioned settings is changed, Tekla Structures automatically recreates the drawing without giving a warning message when you click Modify.

If you only want to modify the view properties for one of the created views:

  • If the changed properties are saved in the same file for all created views, the only way to modify the properties for one view is to set Recreate the drawing to Yes.
  • If the changed properties are saved in a separate file not used for other created views, and that file is selected for the changed view in the Views list, then drawing will only be updated on Modify , not recreated.

Prevent automatic drawing updates and recreation

There are some ways you can prevent drawings from being updated and/or recreated.

  • Freezeto prevent Tekla Structures from updating annotation objects and certain drawing view properties in a drawing when it updates the drawing as the model changes

    When a drawing is frozen, only part geometry is updated when the model changes.

    the drawings where you do not want to update all associative objects on top of the drawing views. The building objects (parts, bolts, welds, etc) are always updated in frozen drawings. For more information about freezing, see Freeze drawings

  • Lockto prevent unwanted action in a model or a drawing

    It is possible to lock model objects, reference models, and drawings, for example.

    the drawings that you do not want to update. For details about locking, see Lock drawings

  • If you update a drawing that has not been modified , the drawing is recreated. Drawings are automatically recreated unless the drawing has been edited and then saved, or the drawing has been issued using the Issue functionality in Document manager. Use the advanced XS_​RECREATE_​UNMODIFIED_​DRAWINGS to control the recreation of unmodified drawings.

  • To prevent Tekla Structures from automatically updating drawings if the model changes, set the advanced option XS_​INTELLIGENT_​DRAWING_​ALLOWED to FALSE.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
No votes yet