Hello!

Did you know that logged in users can see a lot more content?

2018 Table of Contents

Reserve the next write out and other improvements in Tekla Model Sharing

Last updated March 16, 2018 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2018

Reserve the next write out and other improvements in Tekla Model Sharing

Reserve the next write out and other improvements in Tekla Model Sharing

In Tekla Model Sharingcloud service for collaboration and for storing and sharing a model

Tekla Model Sharing is one of the Tekla online services.

, you can now reserve the next write out in a shared modelmodel used for collaboration over the Tekla Model Sharing service

With a shared model, each user works with their own model and the changes are shared through Tekla Model Sharing. A shared model requires the use of a single-user model. The same model cannot be a shared model and a multi-user model.

. You can also create a model baseline using Sharing automation tool.

Reserve the next write out

In Tekla Model Sharing , you can now reserve the next write out in a shared model for sending your changes to the sharing service. Reserving the next write out is useful if you need to ensure that other users will not write out changes that would override the changes you are making. Such changes could be numberingprocess of assigning position numbers to parts, cast units, assemblies, or reinforcement

In Tekla Structures, the position numbers assigned in the numbering are shown in marks and templates, for example.

the model or creating a model baseline, for example, or other changes that need to be available for all users of the model.

All users of a shared model can reserve the next write out , except users with the Viewer role. To reserve the next write out, on the File menu, click Sharing > Reserve next write out.

The Reserve next write out command opens the Reserve next write out dialog box where you need to enter a comment about why you are reserving the write out. Click Reserve to reserve the write out.

When you have reserved the next write out, the Write out icon on the Quick Access Toolbar shows a yellow arrow for all users of the model. Other users cannot write out while you have the next write out reserved. Placing the mouse pointer on top of the icon shows who has reserved the next write out and the comment that was written in the Reserve next write out dialog box.

When you have made your changes in the model, on the File menu, click Sharing > Write out. In the Reserve next write out dialog box, enter a comment about the changes and click Release. When you have written out, the arrow in the Write out icon changes to green again. Other users can now write out normally.

You can also release your write out reservation without writing out. To do this, on the File menu, click Sharing > Release reservation without write out.

Create a baseline using Sharing automation tool

If you are the Owner of a shared model, you can now use Sharing automation tool to create a baseline of the model when writing out. When you create a baseline, a full model is written out to the sharing service.

Sharing automation tool is available in the Applications & components cataloguser interface for displaying or modifying information in categorized lists

For example, profile catalog and shape catalog are catalogs.

. To create a baseline when writing out, select Create baseline in the Sharing automation tool dialog box.

Improved and more robust performance in Tekla Model Sharing

Working with Tekla Model Sharing is now even more productive than before. Several improvements in change and conflict handling now result in more robust and reliable performance.

  • The list of read in changes is now more accurate as unnecessary change flags are not anymore shown for parts, assemblies and cast units, and part cuts.
  • Changes in the model folderfolder that is used for storing files associated with a model

    Tekla Structures stores all files associated with a model in a folder it creates with the same name as the model database (.db1).

    In multi-user mode all users access the same model folder.

    are now more controlled.
  • Gaps in standard partsteel part that current model parts are compared with in the numbering process in order to give them specific part prefixes

    numbering and renumber all have been addressed.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our documentation.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
No votes yet