Hello!

Did you know that logged in users can see a lot more content?

Tekla Model Sharing improvements

Last updated November 8, 2017 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2017i

Tekla Model Sharing improvements

Tekla Model Sharing improvements

Management Console for Tekla Model Sharingweb-based tool for administrators to manage all the organization's models shared with Tekla Model Sharing

The Management Console for Tekla Model Sharing requires a valid Trimble Identity and administrator rights.

is a tool for company administrators to manage shared models. Administrators can now use Management Console to restore shared models by deleting the model versions that are causing problems. In addition, Tekla Model Sharingcloud service for collaboration and for storing and sharing a model

Tekla Model Sharing is one of the Tekla online services.

contains several performance and speed improvements.

Removing versions from shared models and reverting to previous model version

Management Console for Tekla Model Sharing provides a web-based access for administrators to manage all shared models in an organization. Using Management Console for Tekla Model Sharing requires a valid Trimble Identityuser account to Tekla online services and other Trimble services

For a Tekla Structures user, Trimble Identity is a single sign-on account which enables the user’s online identity management. The organization that the user’s Trimble Identity belongs to, determines the user’s access rights. Trimble Identity is needed, for example, for Tekla Campus and Tekla Warehouse, and to log in to Tekla User Assistance.

with administrator rights.

Locking a shared modelmodel used for collaboration over the Tekla Model Sharing service

With a shared model, each user works with their own model and the changes are shared through Tekla Model Sharing. A shared model requires the use of a single-user model. The same model cannot be a shared model and a multi-user model.

for investigation and deleting model versions

It may sometimes be necessary to lockto prevent unwanted action in a model or a drawing

It is possible to lock model objects, reference models, and drawings, for example.

a model for investigation to identity a model version that causes problems, and to find the last valid version. For example, a user may have accidentally deleted too many objects, and it needs to be investigated which version has these changes. Locking the model can save a lot of time and prevent further issues, as the users of the model cannot write out changes while the model is locked. The administrator can name one user as the lock owner who can investigate and identify the problem in the model.

While the model is locked, the sharing commands in Tekla Structures are available as follows:

  • The Read in and Write out buttons have yellow arrows. Only the lock owner can use these commands.
  • On the File menu, the Read in , Write out , Create baseline and Users commands are available for the lock owner.
  • In the Shared models dialog box, the Edit model , Manage users , and Remove model from cloud commands , and joining a particular model are available for the lock owner.

For other users the sharing commands are not available.

When the lock owner finds the model version that causes problems, the administrator can delete the model version in Management Console for Tekla Model Sharing. If the model has newer versions, Management Console deletes these versions as well. After the versions have been deleted, the administrator unlocks the model. If a user of the shared model has already read in or written out any of the deleted versions, the Write out and Read in buttons have red arrows for the user, and the user needs to rejoin the model.

Reverting to a previous version

It is also possible to revert to an earlier version of the model without further investigating the model. The administrator can lock the model, delete the versions that are not needed or that contain errors, and then unlock the model.

Improvements in Tekla Model Sharing performance and speed

Selecting sharing service at start sharing and joining a model

When the on-premises sharing service is enabled, you need to activate the service when you use Tekla Model Sharing for the first time. You can set up and use an on-premises service connection, or you can use the Tekla service.

Tekla Structures remembers the service you selected so that the same service is used the next time you use Tekla Model Sharing , unless you select to use another service. This makes connecting to the service faster. The Tekla Model Sharing on-premises server requires a separate license and installation.

Faster conflict resolution

In Tekla Model Sharing , optimized model sharing conflict resolution is now always in use for components with many dependencies. The conflict solution that was available in previous Tekla Structures versions is not used in Tekla Structures 2017i anymore.

Improved checking of incrementally shared databases

The compatibility of incrementally shared databases is now checked when opening a shared model. If the database file versions do not match the Tekla Structures model ( xslib.db1 , environment.db , options_model.db , options_drawings.db ), Tekla Structures displays a warning message. The database files need to be replaced before sharing can be used.

If Tekla Structures finds a matching backup file, it will be used. Otherwise, the warning message indicates the version (packet number) from which the files need to be copied.

Improved performance for read in

Tekla Model Sharing performance has been improved when reading in many packets in a model that contains a large number of files.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our documentation.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
No votes yet

Comments

by Patrick Helldén

Hi reference to Management Console for Tekla Model Sharing does not work.
Where can I find the homepage for this? I thought that the page homepage was : https://manage.teklamodelsharing.com/ I can see our organiztion, but I cant klick the name of our organization, and yes I am the admin of the company according to https://admin.account.tekla.com : Please advise / Patrick

by Tommi Hautalahti

Hello, thanks for pointing out the broken link. It's not supposed to lead to the management console, but to a page in Tekla User Assistance, which for some reason is not currently available. Sorry for that.

You have the correct link. The name of the organization in the management console is unfortunately formatted to look like a link, but it's just informative text. You should see three clickable items above next to the logo, with "Models" being the page on which you can actually see and do stuff.

by Patrick Helldén

Ok I got it, I´m also admin for 3 different Accounts ( 3 different countries ) how can I as an admin see all of the accounts ( all of the users in different account have the same domain i.e @company.com,

by Jari Sundqvist

Currently each organization (company) is managed individually, so you will need switch between companies to administer them. Note taken about the need to have the possibility to administer multiple organizations with same admin account.