Hello!

Did you know that logged in users can see a lot more content?

Multi-user mode in Tekla Structures

Last updated March 6, 2017 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2017

Multi-user mode in Tekla Structures

Multi-user mode in Tekla Structures

You can work on Tekla Structures models in either single-user or multi-user modemode in which several users can work on the same model using their own working models

. Multi-user mode allows several users to access the same model at the same time. Several users can work on the same project and be aware of the others’ progress. This eliminates the need for copying and merging models.

Advantages

  • No duplicate models to control, track or store

  • Using only one model reduces on site errors

  • Erection plans based on a single master modelmulti-user model from and to which information is fetched and saved in multi-user mode, and into which Tekla Structures merges changes that individual users make in the working models

    It is not possible to work on the master model.

  • Bolt and material lists generated from a single master model

  • Ability to share the workload of large projects among many users

  • Ability to collect model history (see XS_COLLECT_MODEL_HISTORY )

Other issues to consider

As with all projects, you need to plan your multi-user project carefully. Some issues to consider are:

  • Only one user can save to the master model at a time

  • Use a numberingprocess of assigning position numbers to parts, cast units, assemblies, or reinforcement

    In Tekla Structures, the position numbers assigned in the numbering are shown in marks and templates, for example.

    plan. When working with multi-user models, always use the option Synchronize with master model (save-numbering-save) in the Numbering setup dialog box to prevent saving conflicts.

  • Schedule numbering sessions appropriately (it can take some time to number larger models)

  • If possible, assign distinct areas of the model to each user to avoid conflicts that may happen when several users are working in the same area.

  • You should never use a mix of single-user and multi-user setups on one project. Saving a multi-user modelmodel that is used for collaboration and that is opened in multi-user mode

    in single-user modemode in which only one user can work on a model

    deletes changes by other users working on the model, and can also corrupt the model. See Saving in multi-user mode to find out how saving works in multi-user mode.

Note:

Tekla Structures multi-user mode only runs on TCP/IP-based networks.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
No votes yet