Hello!

Did you know that logged in users can see a lot more content?

How multi-user works

Last updated March 6, 2017 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2017

How multi-user works

How multi-user works

The multi-user modelmodel that is used for collaboration and that is opened in multi-user mode

consists of a single master modelmulti-user model from and to which information is fetched and saved in multi-user mode, and into which Tekla Structures merges changes that individual users make in the working models

It is not possible to work on the master model.

. Each user can access this model and open their own local view of the model. This local view is called a working modelmulti-user model that an individual user works on in multi-user mode

Working model is a local copy of a master model and the user’s current model.

. The above image shows one possible configuration of the multi-user system.

Any changes a user makes to his working model are local and are not visible to other users until he saves the working model to the master model.

The multi-user system can contain several client computers , where users work on their working models. The master model can be located anywhere on the network, including any of the client computers.

When you open a multi-user model on a client computer, Tekla Structures makes a copy of the master model and saves it locally on the client computer (a working model).

When you click Save to save your working model back to the master model, Tekla Structures :

  1. Takes a new copy of the master model and compares your working model with it.

  2. Saves the changes in your working model to the copy of the master model (locally).

  3. Saves this copy back to the master model. (When other users save their working models, they can now see your changes.)

  4. Takes a new copy of the master model and saves it locally as your working model. (You can see your own changes and those uploaded by other users.)

The multi-user model is locked during opening, saving and numberingprocess of assigning position numbers to parts, cast units, assemblies, or reinforcement

In Tekla Structures, the position numbers assigned in the numbering are shown in marks and templates, for example.

. When one of the users performs any of these operations, other users cannot perform them during that time.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
No votes yet