Hello!

Did you know that logged in users can see a lot more content?

Start sharing a model in Tekla Model Sharing

Last updated March 6, 2017 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2017

Start sharing a model in Tekla Model Sharing

Start sharing a model in Tekla Model Sharing

Before you can start sharing your models in Tekla Model Sharingcloud service for collaboration and for storing and sharing a model

Tekla Model Sharing is one of the Tekla online services.

, you need to be logged in with your Trimble Identityuser account to Tekla online services and other Trimble services

For a Tekla Structures user, Trimble Identity is a single sign-on account which enables the user’s online identity management. The organization that the user’s Trimble Identity belongs to, determines the user’s access rights. Trimble Identity is needed, for example, for Tekla Campus and Tekla Warehouse, and to log in to Tekla User Assistance.

in Tekla Structures. If you are not logged in, the Trimble Identity log in dialog box opens.

  1. Open a single-user modelmodel that is opened in single-user mode

    you want to share.
  2. On the File menu, click Sharing > Start sharing.

    The Start sharing dialog box opens.

  3. If needed, enter a Code and a Description for the model.
    • Code can be, for example, a site number, a project number, or an accounting number.
    • Add Description according to your company conventions.
  4. Invite other users to share your model by entering their e-mail addresses to the Invite users box and set their user role either to Editor , Owner , Project viewer , or Viewer.

    You can add several users at one go. Separate the e-mail addresses with semicolons. If you add several users at one go, they all get the same user role. The role can be changed later.

  5. Click the Add button to add the users to the model.
  6. Select whether to send a notification e-mail to the invited users. Select the Send e-mail notification to user check box and write a message to the invited users, if needed.
  7. Click the Start button to start sharing your model.

    The model is saved and written out to the sharing service.

Next time you open the model, you can open it

  • on the Welcome page when you open Tekla Structures. Either click the Shared models button on the All models tab, or select the shared modelmodel used for collaboration over the Tekla Model Sharing service

    With a shared model, each user works with their own model and the changes are shared through Tekla Model Sharing. A shared model requires the use of a single-user model. The same model cannot be a shared model and a multi-user model.

    from the list of models. Shared models have the cloud icon.

  • in File menu > Open.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
No votes yet