Hello!

Did you know that logged in users can see a lot more content?

Share your model changes in Tekla Model Sharing

Last updated March 6, 2017 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2017

Share your model changes in Tekla Model Sharing

Share your model changes in Tekla Model Sharing

After you have modified your local version of the Tekla Model Sharingcloud service for collaboration and for storing and sharing a model

Tekla Model Sharing is one of the Tekla online services.

model, you can share your changes with other users who are working with the model.

To share your changes with other users, send your changes to the sharing service by writing them out.

To update your model with the changes done by other users, fetch the changes from the sharing service by reading them in. You always need to read in the most current changes to a model before you can write out.

Write out

  1. On the File menu, click Sharing > Write out , or click on the Quick Access Toolbar.

    The Write out button shows a green arrow when there are no packets that need to be read in before you can write out. You can write out changes immediately.

    The Write out button shows a gray arrow when there are packets that need to be read in before you can write out changes.

    When you write out, Tekla Structures saves the model, creates a packet of the model changes, writes out the changes to the sharing service and saves the model again.

    Only new or changed data is written out. If you attempt to write out your changes, but some other user has shared some changes earlier and you have not yet read in all the available updates, you are asked to read in first. If there is no new data to be read in, Tekla Structures writes out your changes to the sharing service immediately.

    If one of the users who shares the model has selected the Enable write out revision comment option in the Sharing settings dialog box, you can enter a code or a comment for the update that you are writing out.

    If you delete objects and share the deletion to the sharing service, the deletion is shared with other users, and the deleted objects cannot be recovered.

  2. Continue working with the model.

    Note that if several users modify the same objects at the same time, the model will contain the changes by the user who first wrote out the changes.

If you want to automate the write out process, you can use Sharing Automation Tool from the Applications and components cataloguser interface for displaying or modifying information in categorized lists

For example, profile catalog and shape catalog are catalogs.

. The tool first reads in and then tries to write out the changes until it succeeds.

Read in

  1. On the File menu, click Sharing > Read in , or click on the Quick Access Toolbar.

    The Read in button shows the number of packets that are available to be read in.

    If one of the users who shares the model has selected the Show available updates when reading in option in the Sharing settings dialog box, the Available updates list opens after you have clicked the Read in button.

    The dialog box lists all the available packets. You can read in the changes packet-by-packet, if you want to check the model changes in phases. If you want to receive all the updates at once, you can select the latest packet and all the previous packets are read in as well.

    When you read in, the updates to the shared modelmodel used for collaboration over the Tekla Model Sharing service

    With a shared model, each user works with their own model and the changes are shared through Tekla Model Sharing. A shared model requires the use of a single-user model. The same model cannot be a shared model and a multi-user model.

    are delivered as incremental packets that only include the changed data. You need to read in all shared changes before you can again write out your own changes to the sharing service.

    If you have selected the Show changes after read in option in the Sharing settings dialog box, a list of sharing changes opens at the bottom pane after the selected packets are read in. The list shows the changes according to how they affect the model.

  2. Continue working with the model.
Note:

If you encounter problems with sharing, check the sharing related log files in the current modelmodel that is active in Tekla Structures

The current model can be a single-user model, a shared model or a working model.

folder and in ..\Users\<user>\AppData\Local\Tekla DataSharing for troubleshooting.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
No votes yet