Hello!

Did you know that logged in users can see a lot more content?

Join a shared model in Tekla Model Sharing

Last updated March 6, 2017 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2017

Join a shared model in Tekla Model Sharing

Join a shared model in Tekla Model Sharing

When someone using Tekla Model Sharingcloud service for collaboration and for storing and sharing a model

Tekla Model Sharing is one of the Tekla online services.

has invited you to join a shared Tekla Structures model, you will receive an invitation e-mail.

The e-mail contains information about the model, the used environment and your user role. The user role is your level of permission to the model. You can join a model at any stage of sharing, and as many times you need.

  1. On the File menu, click Sharing > Browse shared models.

    The Shared models dialog box opens.

  2. In Save in , browse for the location where you want to save your local version of the model.

    If you later want to join the same model again, you need to save a new local version of the model on your computer. If you use the same name for the model, the local versions of the model need to be saved in different locations on your computer, because you cannot have two or more models of the same name in the same folder.

  3. From the Shared models list, select the model you have been invited to.

    You find the name of the model in the invitation e-mail.

  4. Click the Join button.

    When you join the model:

    • Tekla Structures checks that the local version of the model does not already exists in the selected folder. A warning message is displayed if the selected folder already contains the model. In that case, you need to browse for a different folder where to save the model.

    • Tekla Structures checks the environment you are using and displays a message if you are using a different environment than the shared modelmodel used for collaboration over the Tekla Model Sharing service

      With a shared model, each user works with their own model and the changes are shared through Tekla Model Sharing. A shared model requires the use of a single-user model. The same model cannot be a shared model and a multi-user model.

      . We recommend that all users within the same shared model use the same environment.

    The Available updates list opens.

  5. From the list of available updates, select an update or a baseline that you want to join.

    You can select any baseline, which is a snapshot of the model state on a certain date, or update to join, not only the latest. Selecting a baseline is beneficial if you join the model when there already are many changes made. Joining a baseline instead of an update is also faster.

    By joining an earlier baseline or update you can go back in the model history, and, for example, check the model state on a certain date.

  6. Start working with the model and share your model changes.

    When you read in, only incremental update packets are fetched from the sharing service.

Next time you open the model, you can open it

  • on the Welcome page when you open Tekla Structures. Either click the Shared models button on the All models tab, or select the shared model from the list of models. Shared models have the cloud icon.

  • in File menu > Open.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
No votes yet