Hello!

Did you know that logged in users can see a lot more content?

Exclude a model from the sharing service in Tekla Model Sharing

Last updated March 6, 2017 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2017

Exclude a model from the sharing service in Tekla Model Sharing

Exclude a model from the sharing service in Tekla Model Sharing

If needed, you can exclude yourself and your local version of the model from the sharing service.

When you exclude a model, your local version of the model is no longer connected to the sharing service and you cannot share your changes anymore. However, the model instance still exists in the sharing service and other users can continue working with the model normally.

Note:

After you have excluded your local version of the model from the sharing service, you cannot merge the excluded model back to the original shared modelmodel used for collaboration over the Tekla Model Sharing service

With a shared model, each user works with their own model and the changes are shared through Tekla Model Sharing. A shared model requires the use of a single-user model. The same model cannot be a shared model and a multi-user model.

. The excluded model is completely new and it has no connection to the model in the sharing service.

All users, regardless of their user role ( Owner , Editor , Project viewer , Viewer ), can exclude their local version of the model from the sharing service.

  1. On the File menu, click Sharing > Exclude from sharing .

    A confirmation message is displayed.

  2. Click Continue.

    Your local version of the model is disconnected from the sharing service, and you cannot write out or read in changes anymore.

    The model automatically becomes a single-user modelmodel that is opened in single-user mode

    .

After you have excluded your local version of the model from the sharing service you can

  • continue working with the model in single-user modemode in which only one user can work on a model

    .

  • start working with the model in multi-user mode.

  • start working with the model again in Tekla Model Sharingcloud service for collaboration and for storing and sharing a model

    Tekla Model Sharing is one of the Tekla online services.

    .

If you would like to start working again with the excluded model in Tekla Model Sharing , you can either

  • start sharing the model and invite other users to join the model.

    If you start to share the model, the model is completely new and it has no connection to the previous model in the sharing service, even though the model retains its old name.

  • join the same model again in the Shared models dialog box in File menu > Sharing > Browse shared models.

    When you join the model, you can select a baseline or an update to join.

    If you join the model again, you need to save a new local version of the model on your computer. If you do not change the name of the model, you may have several models that have the same name in the Shared models dialog box. All these local versions of the model need to be saved in different locations on your computer, because you cannot have two or more models of the same name in the same folder.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
No votes yet