Hello!

Did you know that logged in users can see a lot more content?

What is Tekla Model Sharing

Last updated July 5, 2016 by Tekla User Assistance tekla.documentation@trimble.com

Software version: 
2016

What is Tekla Model Sharing

What is Tekla Model Sharing

Tekla Model Sharingcloud service for collaboration and for storing and sharing a model

Tekla Model Sharing is one of the Tekla online services.

enables efficient global collaborative modeling within one Tekla Structures model. Tekla Model Sharing gives users the freedom to work with the same model at the same time in different locations and time zones.

With Tekla Model Sharing you can work locally and share the model changes globally. For example, one Tekla Model Sharing team of users can work in New York, one in London and one in Bangkok. They all contribute to the same model, working around the globe during their office hours in different time zones while the model keeps building up all the time.

In Tekla Model Sharing each user has a local version of the model on their computer or on a network drive, and the model data is shared and synchronized over the Internet using a Microsoft Azure cloud sharing service. When a model is shared, it is connected to the cloud-based sharing service. You can check the status of the service at any time.

To easily share your model changes, write out them to the sharing service. When you want to update your model with the changes made by other users, read in the changes from the sharing service.

Even though the changes are shared over the Internet, you do not need to be connected to the sharing service all the time. You need to be online only when you want to write out or read in the changes. This enables offline work if your Internet connection is not always available.

With Tekla Model Sharing you can

  • invite other users to your shared models

  • join someone else's shared models

  • share model changes

Note:

Tekla Model Sharing requires a single-user modelmodel that is opened in single-user mode

.

A model cannot be simultaneously shared and used in multi-user mode. If you want to start using multi-user modemode in which several users can work on the same model using their own working models

as a means to share your model instead of Tekla Model Sharing , you need to first exclude your local version of the model from the sharing service and then convert it to a multi-user modelmodel that is used for collaboration and that is opened in multi-user mode

.

The excluded model has no connection to the original shared modelmodel used for collaboration over the Tekla Model Sharing service

With a shared model, each user works with their own model and the changes are shared through Tekla Model Sharing. A shared model requires the use of a single-user model. The same model cannot be a shared model and a multi-user model.

in the sharing service. This means that if you exclude your local version of the model from the sharing service and start to use the model in multi-user mode, you cannot later merge the original shared model and the multi-user model.

Quick feedback

The feedback you give here is not visible to other users. We use your comments to improve our content.
We use this to prevent automated spam submissions.
Content rating: 
Average page rating: 5 (1 vote)
Refresh page after voting to show updated result.

Comments

by David Lash

Hi team,

Can we please add here urgently the link to
https://status.teklamodelsharing.com/

Why? Because when the service goes down, user type 'Tekla Model Sharing' into TUA but don't know where to find information on why things stopped working.

I suggest we add the link in the following way:
"When a model is shared, it is connected to the cloud-based sharing service. (add this sentence) The status of this service can be found at anytime here <link>

by Tekla User Assistance

Thanks for your feedback! We'll take care of this.